Andrew Platt

I am a teacher, a student, and a learner. I am a father and a friend. I enjoy a number of activities,

Teacher and Student

I live in Qingdao, Shandong, China with my family. I conceived of and run a hybrid teacher training program for a group of International Schools. We have partnered with US universities who provide online instruction in Chinese at an affordable rate. From our end, we round out the university experience, providing a study community, hands-on experience, mentoring and tutoring, and other support.

Apart from administration, I teach cultural understanding, character development, and discipleship. I have studied a number of languages, but am always learning more. My academic background and research is in Medieval Christianity in Asia, and particularly the spread of the faith in its Eastern context. I am presently working on several translations of Christian documents from Ancient Chinese.

One of our first graduates

Father and Friend

I am married, 17 years, to my beautiful wife Annie, and we have three boys, Craig 10, Evan 8, and Luke 6. Luke is adopted from Henan in China and is legally blind, though the way he runs around you would be forgiven for not noticing that.

As a family, we do life together. I particularly enjoy hikes in the mountains or along the beach, a rousing game of Among Us or Dutch Blitz, and sitting down, just about nightly, to read to the boys. Luke and I are reading through Narnia now, and for the older two, we have read the Lord of the Rings, The Eagle of the Ninth by Rosemary Sutcliff, Treasure Island, Dune by Frank Herbert, and Byzantium by Stephen Lawhead, just to name a few.

Our family in Shanghai

Contact Us

International Education Center
Qingdao, Shandong
%d bloggers like this: